Learning to fly

My South American adventure began almost a month and a half ago in Lima on the Pacific Ocean, so it was only fitting that it end on the Atlantic Ocean. Rio de Janeiro

IMG_3024 

Ipanema beach was deserted in the morning, I guess even beautiful people need to work.

IMG_3037

Later in the afternoon, I went to the summit of Tijuca Forest National Park, approximately 520m above sea level. Watch the video to find out why I was looking down at Cucumber beach from a launch ramp for hand-gliders.

 

IMG_3075

With both feet firmly on the ground again, I hiked up an outcrop on the cusp of Ipanema and Copacabana beach to watch the sun set. The flat-top immediately to the left of the Sun was the take off point for my maiden flight.

IMG_3093

Another picture of the beautiful sunset on Ipanema beach, a perfect place to end my South America adventure.

Here are some more pictures (soon).

7 responses to “Learning to fly

  1. Dude! That must have been exhilarating. Good to know you survived, I would have been screaming like a little girl.

  2. awesome! Nick watched with great fascination…and that’s something since his attention span with videos is less than a minute!

  3. fantastic! watching you, I am having butterflies in my stomach. How was it when over the sea???

  4. Awesome flight!!! No turning back after that last step off the top! Looks like a great trip so far.

  5. Great video of your reincarnation as a bird!

  6. What a thrill ride.. We were there but we didn’t hang glide.. really bad decision..

Leave a comment