I Stare at Goats

 

Crete is the largest Greek island and birthplace of one of the earliest civilization in Europe. I was lucky to visit just before the tourist season started and practically had the place to myself.

IMG_4813 

These huge ferries transport people, cars and cargo between Crete, mainland Greece and the other islands. At the end of my trip I took the Minoan “Festos Palace” for an overnight crossing back to the Athenian port of Piraeus.

IMG_4820

The ancient Venetian fortress in Iraklion stands guard over the harbor. Walking and fishing along the ancient (now restored) sea-wall is a favorite local pastime.

IMG_4702

The ruins of a Bronze Age complex called Knossos Palace lie a few kilometers south of Iraklion. The Minotaur supposedly lived in a labyrinth under the palace, although no traces of a labyrinth were ever discovered.

IMG_4714

Orange orchards were everywhere, even growing wild!

 

IMG_4715

The island is extremely mountainous and some slopes offer skiing in the winter. The valleys and gentler slopes are covered with olive groves and vine yards.

IMG_4729

I rented a car (a box on wheels really) and drove around the island, visiting remote mountain-top monasteries.

IMG_4758

Needless to say, the sea-food was spectacular. Restaurants display their catch in front and customers can choose what they want, like the half sea-bass I had for dinner.

IMG_4765

Like my idol, I can’t stop chasing windmills. The road actually ended at a secluded nunnery just around the corner and I never made it to the windmills.

IMG_4787

On my last day on the island, I hiked a few kilometers out on a remote ridge; from this precarious perch it was hard to distinguish between the sea and the sky.

IMG_4789 

On my hike back to the car I ran into a family of wild mountain goats, this one miraculous climbed out of the precipice.

IMG_4806

Mamma goat and her kids stood their ground and I was obliged take a rather strenuous detour.

You can see more pictures here (soon).

One response to “I Stare at Goats

  1. Raclare Kanal

    Hi, Parag. Laveen has forwarded your posts to the family and we are having a great time following your travels. Crete looks beautiful, but beware the Minotaur – I hear rumors that he is still lurking about somewhere….

    Raclare

Leave a comment