Luxor

Luxor or Thebes as the ancients called it, is located on the east bank of the Nile approximately 700 kms. south of Cairo. I took the overnight train from Cairo to Luxor, which was an adventure in itself.

IMG_5366 

The best way to escape the oppressive afternoon heat is to ride a Felucca on the cool waters of the Nile.

IMG_5411

As the Sun disappeared behind the Valley of Kings, I smoked a Sheesha and sipped sweet black tea with the captain while his nephew pulled in the sails.

IMG_5433 

The next day I visited Queen Hatshepsut’s mortuary temple where Horus, the god of protection, stands guard at the entrance. Interestingly, Horus is usually represented as a Falcon because it never closes its eyes, even while looking straight into the Sun.

IMG_5440

Party time, pharaoh style!

IMG_5486 (2)

Luxor temple at night, the row of obelisks used to run for 3kms all the way to the Karnak temple. If you have been following my posts, you should know where the missing obelisk is.

IMG_5479 (2)

Inside one of the great halls of the Karnak temple complex at night.

More picture here (soon).

3 responses to “Luxor

  1. Good to see a post after a long time. Been in Egypt all this while?
    btw, is the missing one in St. Peter’s square?

  2. I have been busy :-p will start posting the remainder of the trip soon.

    Yes, the missing obelisk is indeed in Paris!

  3. Hi,

    My name is KC Owens; I’m a college student who loves to travel! While cruising the Internet, I found your site and really enjoyed reading your posts. Personally, I think traveling is a necessary part of life as you’re exposed to all sorts of new cultures and experiences. While enjoying time abroad, I’ve found it’s crucial to fully understand the dangers that you might encounter along the way. These mishaps are part of life and certainly part of travel but it’s always a great idea to take preventive measures to help ensure your safety while abroad.

    I was hoping that you would allow me to write a post for your site to share my travel safety tips with your readers? I put a lot of time and passion into my traveling and I would love to help others by offering safety advice as a result of the mistakes and triumphs I’ve had. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Best,

    KC Owens

Leave a comment